nmpaster.blogg.se

Best lightweight linux distro for audio
Best lightweight linux distro for audio









best lightweight linux distro for audio
  1. #Best lightweight linux distro for audio install#
  2. #Best lightweight linux distro for audio update#
  3. #Best lightweight linux distro for audio software#
  4. #Best lightweight linux distro for audio plus#

# cat /etc/apl-files/mpd.service > /usr/lib/systemd/system/mpd.serviceĪnd it works! Right now I’m enjoying Nils Frahm’s "All Melody" from the album of the same name, playing over my Schiit Fulla 2 in glorious high-resolution sound.

#Best lightweight linux distro for audio update#

So I scanned again through the comments at the bottom of the installation instructions and spotted this:Īfter every update of mpd, you have to do: And… nothing… the conky info on the screen indicated “MPD not responding”. And finally, I used the application menu DAC Setup > Restart mpd. I used scp to copy an album over from my main music server into ~/Music. Then I selected DAC Setup > Edit mpd.conf and adjusted the output stanza of mpd.conf.

#Best lightweight linux distro for audio plus#

I found the DAC Setup > List cards on the application menu, which showed the built-in Intel sound hardware plus my USB DAC that I had plugged in earlier. I also thought I’d try installing Cantata once more using pacman -S cantata, and it worked just fine (no ffmpeg2.8 problems). Pacman -S firefox # the docs suggested installing chromium but I prefer FFĪnd the last little bit, fiddling /etc/fstab to avoid access time modifications. Now back to the rest of the instructions: pacman -S terminus-font Pacman -Rc ffmpeg2.8 # uninstalled Cantata, have to fix that later! To be clear, here was my sequence of operations: (As an aside, typing all these pacman commands made me realize how familiar I am with apt, and how much this whole process made me feel like I was trying to write an email in some language I don’t know using an online translator.) I chose to use pacman -Rc ffmpeg2.8, and then reran pacman -Suy. Try to remove conflicting packages with “pacman -R ffmpeg2.8” and then do pacman -Suy later.

#Best lightweight linux distro for audio install#

I looked further down the page in the install instructions and saw this recommendation:Īgain there is an error in upstream repo of Arch packages. I followed this instruction, but the second run of pacman -Suy led to another dependency error, this time with the x265 package.

best lightweight linux distro for audio

#Best lightweight linux distro for audio software#

Pacman-key –init # create pacman’s encryption data part 1Īt this point, the install instructions note that there is a problem with updating software with the pacman -Suy command, and that first the libxfont package must be removed using pacman -Rc libxfont.

best lightweight linux distro for audio

Ping 8.8.8.8 # check connectivity (works fine) I booted Linux from that menu, which put me in a root shell session, where I could carry out the install to the hard drive: When the splash screen came up, I set the boot device to the USB stick and a minute or so later, the Arch Grub menu was displayed. Once I had the USB set up and ready to go, I plugged it into the Toshiba and booted it.

best lightweight linux distro for audio

I used the GNOME Disks utility’s Restore Disk Image for this purpose. The site provides a clear set of install instructions that require the use of the terminal. Given its orientation and feature set, I decided to take it for a spin on my old Toshiba laptop. The Audiophile Linux site hasn’t shown a lot of activity since April 2017, but it does contain some updates and commentary from this year. Supports various music players, including one of my favorite combos: MPD + Cantata Uses the lightweight Fluxbox window managerĪllows playback of DSF and supports the usual PCM formats Provides a real-time Linux kernel customized for playing music I recently stumbled on the Audiophile Linux project, one of a number of special-purpose music-oriented Linux distributions.

  • Running Kubernetes on your Raspberry Pi.
  • A practical guide to home automation using open source tools.
  • 6 open source tools for staying organized.
  • An introduction to programming with Bash.
  • A guide to building a video game with Python.










  • Best lightweight linux distro for audio